This recipe is based on one from a Mediterranean restaurant I worked at. It was known as one of their “spreads”. For example, they offered a plate with baba ganouj, hummus, tzatziki and tyrosalata known as the spread plate. You could order it as an appetizer to share and each one was also available ala carte.

Next to hummus, tyrosalata is my favorite spread. I haven’t come across this recipe at any other restaurants. I have seen some spicier variations of this recipe online. Adding a little heat or spice to this would be great, but I like this recipe as the way I remember it.

I did tweak the ingredients by adding garlic, because garlic is life. You only need Feta Cheese, Green Onions, and Olive Oil for the original recipe. The fresh imported sheep’s milk feta I bought was almost too good on it’s own for this recipe, but I had my heart on making tyrosalata so I used it anyway. You can probably find a cheaper feta that works just as well, but make sure to use block and not crumbled. I prefer it to have a chunky texture with little bites of feta, the crumbled will be too smooth. Serve it with pita bread and veggies and try not to eat the whole thing in one sitting. Enjoy.

28ABE126-D808-4600-95D7-B3581851DD5A

Tyrosalata

Feta Cheese and Green Onion Spread

  • Food Processor
  • 1/2 Lb. Feta Cheese (Block (not crumbled))
  • 3 each Green Onions (Chopped)
  • 1/4 cup Olive Oil (Extra Virgin )
  • 1 tsp. Black Pepper
  1. Add garlic to the bottom of a food processor.



  2. Crumble the block of feta cheese, add green onions, olive oil and 2 tbsp of the feta cheese water. Season with black pepper.



  3. Pulse Several times until all ingredients arecombined. Make sure to open and scrape down the sides of the processor toensure everything is mixed well.



  4. Serve with warmed or toasted pita bread and cold veggies to dip.

Add additional black pepper if desired. 

Try spreading the tyrosalata in a pita sandwich and toast until warm like a delicious grilled cheese.

Appetizer, Side Dish
Mediterranean
Dip, Feta Cheese, Green Onions, Spread